The Wii U, 2 Months In.

So, for some of you, you own a Wii U. You may have got it launch day, Christmas Day, or maybe last Wednesday. You’ve played it, checked out all it’s features and drawn some amazing pictures in Miiverse. It’s fun! A lot of fun.

But how do you feel about the console, now that the initial hype phase has passed and you’ve had time to check it out further? Here’s what I think!

The Controller: It was amazing first getting my hands on the Wii U controller. It’s not heavy, bulky or cumbersome. It feels great and just like when the Wii came out, with the Wii Remote, it offers new ways to play games, while also delivering a traditional controller experience. But there are a few gripes I have with it. It’s battery can sometimes be a bit of a bother, especially when you sit down to play for a good length of time, but it’s easy to just plonk it down on the charging cradle when you’re done, akin to the 3DS. My other problem is how developers are looking at it. Take Randy Pitchford for example and his studio Gearbox. They’re bringing Aliens: Colonial Marines to the console, with the ability to use the Gamepad like the motion tracker in the movies, which is a nice little feature and something I’m sure die hard Alien fans will love. That’s cool! It’s something that adds a “WOW! Factor” says Randy. When he was questioned about porting Borderlands 2 to the system though, he said there’d be no interesting way to utilise the Gamepad. Fair enough. It’s different and I’m sure you’d love to do that, but most of us don’t care if you can’t find a way to use the Gamepad. If you can bring it over, slap on Off TV play (which is great and awesome in itself) and keep the game as is otherwise? Great! That’s what we want to see sometimes, we just want the system to be supported with great games, which brings me to my next point…

The Games: The Wii U had a strong and fun launch line up. We had Nintendo Land, Zombi U, Darksiders, Batman, Assassin’s Creed, Super Mario, Tekken and more. Great games with some showing off what the system can do, how to use it in unique ways and games that showed that Nintendo had the power to run them. But that was in November, we’re in February now and although with the latest Nintendo Direct and some games in the coming weeks, I haven’t bought a single physical game since launch. There has been some stuff like NBA2K13 but that’s not my style. We do have Rayman, Aliens, LEGO City, Pikmin and others to look forward to, but they’re still some time off. Luckily there’s been some awesome eShop stuff coming out like The Cave, Little Inferno, Puddle and Trine released. In regards to the eShop, it’s quite excellent and it will only hopefully improve with time. But the layout and ease of use with it all is fantastic.

Miiverse: How amazing and engaging can Miiverse be? I honestly thought I would have grown out of it by now, but I keep coming back to it every single time I turn on my Wii U, checking out all the different communites and such just to see what’s happening. Going into the Nintendo Land community, drawing Captain Falcon then seeing comments and Yeah!’s come in is fun. Or finishing a Mario level and letting people know of a secret or even that you finished the level with no damage is a treat. And it’s not just to show off art talent, it’s a bastion of advice and help for gamers or even posting cool screenshots. I mean look at how Nintendo reacted to it in the last Nintendo Direct, even highlighting some amazingly talented people and their drawings, saying how impressed they were. It feels very Twitter-ish too, with the limit of 100 characters, it gets people to be creative and fun with how they get things across, only adding to it. Guys, Miiverse is awesome.

The Rest: The internet browser is fun and easy to use. It’s great to be able to pause a game, jump in the browser, search for a tip, a cheat, or even check the news or something then jump right back into the game. The YouTube app is cool, even if I don’t use it a lot, but it’s great to be able to watch Nyan Cat for the 500th time on my TV. Downloads are a bit slow, but great they can be done in the background. Haven’t had a chance to use video chat, which I forgot about until I wrote this sentence. Being able to use the controller as a universal remote is awesome too. Apart from that…not much else I dislike!

All in all, I’m really enjoying my Wii U, even with some of the problems. I’m sure, and know Nintendo will address these problems in the near future, so it’s just a matter of playing the waiting game. But what do you Wii U owners think? Enjoying the console? Maybe you aren’t? I’d love to hear your thoughts! Leave a comment below!

One comment

  1. I’m definitely having fun with it. I hope more games utilize Off TV play in the future though. Playing Mario and watching a DVD at the same time has been awesome.

Leave a Reply

