What are you Excited for Now?

We’re at the beginning of May, just past 4 months deep into the year. We’ve had some pretty big releases so far, but we’ve still got 8 months to go! So what’s got you excited for the rest of this year? What games are coming that have you riding that Hype Train? Well, I have a few, some unnanounced, some announced. I’ll let you know what I’m looking forward to, and why I think you should look out for them!

Animal Crossing: New Leaf

I’ve written about my love for Animal Crossing before, so I won’t go into too much detail here, but Animal Crossing is a weird, relaxing escapist game where you talk to animal villagers, collect bugs and fish and just enjoy your days in the village you have surrounding you. It’s addictive, fun and time consuming. This new iteration arrives on the 3DS in June and I am so excited for it. With more things to do, new places to visit, new villagers to interact with and the fact that you are the Mayor now excites me to no end. I know to people who haven’t played the games before this will all sound boring but I mean come on…YOU CAN BE THE MAYOR NOW! YOU CAN SAY “PUT THAT BENCH OVER THERE! THAT LAMPPOST NEEDS TO GO THERE! I AM THE MAYOR AND BEHOLD MY GLORY!” Oh man it’s going to be great. I can’t wait to visit people’s towns and pick their fruit. Come on, let me pick your fruit.

Grand Theft Auto 5

If Rockstar can do 2 things right it’s this: 1. Create amazing trailers. 2. Use those trailers to excite the hell out of me. With every trailer that gets released for GTA5, it only furthers my excitement for the game. I was in the group of people that enjoyed GTA4 for what it was, but after the new stuff we’ve seen and heard about GTA5, 4 just pales in comparison now. With bank heists, 3 playable characters, a map so huge it’s bigger than GTA4, RDR and San Andreas combined and tons more on offer than anything we’ve seen in a GTA before. From what we’ve heard, Rockstar is going above and beyond our expectations to craft a new style of GTA, while refining and perfecting what makes the series fun. It’s going to be the biggest release of the year, on par with Call of Duty and even though we are getting a new CoD, I think Rockstar has the edge this year to beat it out.

The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD

The Wind Waker is a timeless and classic game. Released for the Gamecube back in the early 2000’s, it was a dramatic change for the series visually, but payed off extremely well for Nintendo and is now held high in the Zelda ranks with Ocarina of Time and A Link to the Past. With the Wii U out now as Nintendo’s HD console, what could be better than a HD remake of The Wind Waker? Well, apart from a new Zelda of course! With new upgraded visuals, the game looks even more amazing in HD. I have many very fond memories of this game when I first played it, so any chance to revisit this game is a great excuse. We haven’t heard too much about the game since it’s first reveal, so let’s hope we hear more soon!

New Mario Kart, Super Smash Bros and Mario games

These games haven’t been officially announced yet, but have been confirmed to be in development and ready to show at E3 this year. I love all these series so a chance to play the next installment will be great! What do I hope for with them? Well I’d love for Mario Kart to continue it’s awesome multiplayer, with new courses and vehicles to race in. Mario would be great if it was a perfect blend of Galaxy, 64 and Sunshine, taking all the best elements and blending it together. And with Super Smash Bros? New characters! More stages! More of what makes it fun! And hopefully the Wii U/3DS connections will be worth picking up both for!

Pikmin 3

Pikmin is a series you either love or hate. And I love it. There’s so much fun to be had commanding small plant men around, making them fight big monsters and collecting ship parts for you. I loved 1 and 2 and 3 looks like it will continue that trend. New types of Pikmin and the ability to use the Gamepad to control and view your area has me hyped to play it. And the addition of 4 player multiplayer? Oh man! So keen to play it!

So there my picks for what’s coming up that I HAVE to grab! What are you guys excited for? Let us know in the comments below!

4 comments

  1. Bravely Default: Flying Fairy
    Shin Megami Tensei IV
    Fantasy Life
    Muramasa Rebirth
    Dragon’s Crown
    Persona 4 Arena
    Deadly Premonition Director’s Cut

    and to balance* things out a Western game:
    Dragon Age III Inquisition

    *Disclaimer: Will not balance shit

  2. Batman Arkham origins. this may possibly overshadow the arrival of mini me number 2, jokes but seriously Batman.

  3. GTA V and Dark Souls 2 are the only games I need in my life.

  4. I’m keen for GTA V, Saints Row IV, Arkham Origins and perhaps watch dogs.

Leave a Reply

