Summer Steam Sales: Day 4

Coming at you live from Cakesmith’s lunch break. It’s Day 4!

Kerbal Space Program -40% $13.79 USD

This game is a strange one to describe. You build rockets to get little Kerbals to space. That’s pretty much it. But it is insanely fun! The game is still in beta and is part of the Steam Early Access program, but I’ve had a lot of fun with this.

Is it worth $13.79 USD? Yeah, it probably is.

The Sims 3 -50% $19.99 USD*

*If you know where to look.

This is a strange one. If you buy the base game it’s $39.99 USD. However, if you buy The Sims 3 Plus University Life pack it’s $19.99 USD. So yeah, grab that one. I don’t think I need to explain what The Sims is. Most of the expansion packs are also 25-50% off

Remember Me -40% $29.99 USD

This received some very mixed reviews when it came out. Good premise, poor execution appeared to be the main point.

This is actually the one game I’ve been waiting for to go on sale. A few people I know have played it and have said while it’s not great, it’s enjoyable. For $30 I’ll give it a chance. Hell, I spent $120 on Aliens: Colon** Marines.

**Not a typo

Eador: Masters of the Broken World -40% $11.99 USD

I’d never heard of this one before today. Some quick research shows that it is a fairly fun game to play, albeit launching with a few bugs that may have been fixed by now. It’s a turn-based strategy game in the vein of Might and Magic.

I’m considering it, but as I don’t know too much I’d recommend checking out some reviews first.

ARMA II -66% $4.41 USD

I’m going to go ahead and say don’t bother with this one.

Previously people have purchased it because of DayZ but that is now getting a standalone release and I’ve heard the current servers are full of hackers.

The game itself is a military simulator. It’s fun in co-op but its player base is now pretty small with ARMA III on the horizons (which you can get access to the beta through Steam Early Access).

Portal 2 -50% $4.99 USD

Who doesn’t already own Portal 2?

Fallout: New Vegas -75% $3.74 USD

I actually liked Fallout 3 more (which you can also grab for $5.36 USD). New Vegas is still a great game and for this price it is an absolute steal. If there is a game to get today, it’s this one (or Fallout 3. In fact, get both). Although, grab the “Ultimate Edition” for a few dollars extra ($4.99 USD) to get all the DLC.

2 great games for just over $10 USD.

Hitman Absolution -75% $6.24 USD

I’ve had this sitting on my desk for a while now (Thanks Potaku!) but still haven’t got around to playing it.

It gets Pant’s sticker of indecisiveness for $6.24 USD. I believe he uses the “How many McDoubles could I buy for that?” system of value (I would like to point out this is not a real system -ed). It reviewed well when it was released, but I’d recommend reading some reviews before you commit.

Sanctum 2 -50% $7.49 USD

Take tower defense and add first person shooter elements. This one could go either way. The first game was a bit of a surprise hit and the second ones reviews were all over the place. I picked it up, but I would recommend reading some reviews on what turned some people off before you buy it.

Total War: Shogun 2 -75% $9.99 USD

I love the Total War series. I want them to make a Game of Thrones game.

It’s a real time strategy game played on a large scale. Think Age of Empires with less city building and giant armies. The entire series is actually 75% off. I personally found Empire and Napoleon a little lacklustre. Guns just aren’t that fun. Medieval is the one to grab (although it hasn’t aged too well). Highly recommend all of them.

That’s all for today!

One comment

  1. I don’t have Portal 2 yet! 😛

    And it is actually 75% off, not 50.

Leave a Reply

